We did it!

(Specifically, Beth at Del. Jennifer McClellan’s office did it.)

Yesterday I called my delegate and spoke to her legislative aide. The aide took my concerns seriously and took up the cause right away. Within 24 hours, she called me back to report that she had spoken to several policy analysts and determined that, in fact, I am entitled to a provisional ballot on Election Day. I have her assurance that I will have no problems at the polls.

Hip hip hooray! I’m so excited I hardly even know what to say. But I do know I will be sending Beth a card as soon as I stop shaking with joy.

Apparently, there are new regulations concerning provisional ballots in Virginia, and SBE staff weren’t adequately trained on them. Because I spoke up, and because you all gave me the strength and courage to keep talking, SBE and other election staff will be taught the proper procedures for absentee ballots. We have saved at least one vote, and maybe hundreds.

So thank you, invisible friends (you know who you are), visible friends, and complete strangers. I hope you’ll all forgive me for going into retirement to enjoy my I VOTED sticker in peace.

Leave a comment